Imagine that you are going to visit a new city, which one of the following ways do you think is the best way to know the city in a short time?

• Visit historic sites

• Go to shops and markets

• Enjoy the restaurant and spend time in café

Travels are usually restricted in the span. Due to this fact, knowing a new city requires a well-organized plan. Many people believe that markets, restaurants, or coffee shops can represent a city, while I am of the opinion that there are few choices, if any, more beneficial for one who desires to know about a new place than visiting historical sites. I substantiate my belief by providing some supporting reasons that are elucidated below.

The first reason corroborating my view is that although shops and markets can show the visitor the costume of trades, people's communication, and merchandise that people in that specific city are interested in, it can be distracting as when one goes to the shop, it is somehow impossible to resist the temptation to buy goods that are fascinating. While watching and searching for what pleases one, he or she would lose track of time. Consequently, distracted as one might be encountering new items, they often forget about their aim, which was knowing the place. In contrast to the lack of attention that might be caused by markets, historical places are all about the city, and there is nothing to draw one's attention. Additionally, tour guides are available in historic sites and delightedly explain everything one might ask about the city. Thus, all the questions would be answered in no time.

The second reason is that notwithstanding enjoyable, the restaurants and cafes do not necessarily provide any information about the city. There are many places one can dine that do not serve the unique food, drink, or dessert which that city is famous for. Also, the people to whom one can speak might not know the city well. Take the youth as an example who are usually gather around each other in these places. A young person barely has enough knowledge about the city in which he or she lives to convey to a visitor. Without a shadow of a doubt, historic sites, however, are the cultural identity of the city. It is mutually exclusive to be exposed to cultural places and not receive information about the city. This is the reason that historical sites stand for the city. In historical places, there are many signs and maps in addition to tour guides that explain whatever one wants to know about the city.

In conclusion, the best decision to know the city is to go sightseeing. Not only visiting historical places keep a person concentrated on his or her goal, but they also gain invaluable information about the city.