Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People care more about public recognition than about money. Even if no more money is given, public recognition can still make people work harder.

Wealth and fame have always been the center of human beings' attention. From ancient times, people have used wealth to be recognized and used their fame as a means of wealth accumulation. It has always been a two-way street. Yet, I believe the side of public recognition and fame may have a heavier weight. I believe so, particularly because of these two effects. Let us call them the internal and the external effects.

First, although money, or wealth in general, has always been considered a means of generating happiness, it is not always the case. Of course, money can assist people in their pursuit of happiness, but there is a ceiling on the capacity of happiness it provides. According to a study by the noble laureate Daniel Kahneman, although wealth and money can create happiness, it has a diminishing effect. He estimated that after an $80,000 annual salary, the effect of money on one's happiness diminishes drastically. So, people tend to look for another way of self-promotion, namely by pursuing public recognition. This is the internal effect that nudges people towards working harder just to be recognized by other members of their society.

Another reason, I believe, is external or from the environment people work in. Employers, as external agents, try to exploit this innate desire for public recognition. Organizations have always conducted events like "employee of the month", "CEO of the year" or such to promote the pursuit of these goals as a higher achievement than just merely a higher salary. Even public institutions, such as governments, do so by promoting their employees as "Civil Servants", suggesting they are merely working for the sake of serving the society and not just the end of the month paycheck. Whether this exploitation is ethical or not, I leave it to you, but this is the external effect of why people may care more about public recognition than money.

In conclusion, I believe, although the materialistic view of one's job is not flawed at all, people lean more on the side of public recognition. Whether religion, culture, or external pressure of society caused this belief is up to social scientists to decide.