People care more about public recognition than about money. Even if no more money is given, public recognition can still make people work harder.

Gaining a wild recognition and earning a host of money are both the ways an individual defines success. Some people may assert that they do not care about how much they earn if obtaining popularity in a society, whereas I firmly believe that most human beings consider more about money than public recognitions, and people would not work with their effort if there's no financial motivation. I harbor this belief for several reasons which I would explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

The first reason that came to my mind was money can support humans everyday needs, a basic but essential factor in life which public recognition can barely satisfy. That is to say, with money, people can have adequate clothing, food, and comfortable accommodation, which are the fundamental and crucial needs to ensure the survival of life. Drawing back to my personal experience, when discussing our future goal with my friends, everyone agrees that our ultimate achievement goal in life is earning a great fortune, and providing ourselves and our family with a good quality of life.

Some may argue that public recognition provides individuals with a sense of achievement. But do they realize that if someone cannot support themselves with basic demand, any mental satisfaction will have nothing to do with their lives. People would suffer from hunger and a lack of security if they didn't have enough financial resources.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that it is impossible for most people to care more about their popularity instead of money. This is because it is money that can meet humans daily needs. If one gains just wild recognition but has no money, it is challenging for him or her to keep on with life.