The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Whereas some people like to stay close to a small group of friends for a long time, others prefer to keep making new friends. Both of these require a certain effort and ability to achieve. My personal experiences have led me to conclude that maintaining relations with a few friends for a long period of time brings me more satisfaction. I consider this way for several reasons which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, even though I get the ability to make new friends effortlessly, it is always exhausting to get to know new ones. To leave new friends a good impression on social occasions, people need to spend time and money buying new clothes and dressing up. Moreover, when talking about our own stories, we need to be careful to decide what to say, since this influences how new people are going to judge us. However, if attending the gathering with a small group of good old friends, we do not need to worry about how these friends are going to view us. Therefore, we can just dress up casually and be ourselves. It is more relaxing getting along with a few friends who we have known each other for a long time.

Secondly, a small group of close friends are more likely to provide emotional support. Nowadays, people are always overwhelmed by busy and overloaded lives. This kind of lifestyle has caused enormous pressure and trouble on humans which makes us frustrated. At this time, I would seek friends to pour out my heart and ask for advice. In this way, I could not only release my stress but also obtain some suggestions to tackle the problem I have faced in my life. Since close friends know me better, they can provide me with advice according to my personality and past experience. For instance, I broke up with my ex-boyfriend last year, which made me feel extremely depressed. At that time, my best group of friends from high school stayed with me the majority of the time, and since they knew that relationship well, they provided me with useful advice to help me get through the hard time. If it were not them, a group of ten years friends, I couldn't recover that fast.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that the ability to maintain long friendships with a small number of people makes me feel happier. It is because making new friends takes a great deal of effort and price. Also, close friends bring more emotional support which is necessary in today's world.