Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that rules have a great impact on society. There has always been a controvercial debate on whether young indivisuals were being regulated by rules that are too strict. As far as I am concern, I disagree that the regulations nowadays are too harsh to the teenagers to follow. My opinion is based on several reasons which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First, compared to decades ago, young people nowadays obtain more freedom. That is to say, today's teenagers do not have to follow that many rules than they were in the past. Drawing back to several decades ago, the youths have to follow the expectations and regulations from their parents and the society. For instance, when my grandmother were young, she had no choice but to marry the man choosed by her parents at a certain age, to say, 23 years old. In contrast, nowadays we can have our own choice who to start a relationship with. Moreover, some people do not want to get married, and this is definitely no problem and not a surprise. From this example, it is clear to see that the youths do not have to follow the regulation as strict as they did in the past.

Secondly, the level of age become obscured in recent years; therefore, young indivisuals do not have to obey the older people completely. In the past, due to the traditional concepts, younger people has to follow what older people say, even though the regulations were sometimes unsubstancial. While societies today ensure the equivalance to everyone ragardless of their ages. In other words, young people do not have to obey the rules set by the elders, obtaining more chances to speak for themselves. For instance, nowadays when a teenager find that the class rules set by his teacher do not make sense, he can deliver his point of view and propose to eliminate or adjust the regulations. Nonetheless, if this happened in ten decades ago, the teenager may be viewed as being rude and unrespectful to his teacher.

To sum up, I disagree with the idea that the rules which young people have to follow nowadays are too strict. This is because young individuals today gain more freedom to choice for themselves, and do not need do fully obey with older people in recent years.