Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Crucial events happen every moment in a single corner of the world. Thanks to Internet access, people can obtain information in a short time by surfing online. Some people may argue that it is insignificant to get to know the news all over the world, while I firmly believe that gaining a basic understanding of international events is useful to individuals. I consider this way based on several reasons which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, knowing global news helps us to prevent negative events from occurring. Even though events from other countries seem nothing to do with us at the time they happen, they may occur in our life someday in the future. If the event causes terrible effects, by exploring it, people can avoid it from happening around them. For instance, a tragedy just occurred in South Korea. Hundreds of young people were killed in the accident of pushing and stepping on to other people in an extremely crowded festival activity. After being aware of this disaster, the government of our country implemented strict instructions for citizens to follow on large and crowded occasions. Furthermore, people will pay more attention when they attend these kinds of places. All of these adjustments prevent similar tragedies from happening again. It is clear to see from this example that understanding global news is helpful for us to reflect and adjust ourselves, avoiding disasters from happening.

In addition, attaining basic knowledge of incidents around the world provides us with topics to discuss with others. This allows people to gain opportunities to make new friends or strengthen relationships with current acquaintances. Drawing from my own experience, I attended a business social occasion, and the people there could have tremendous influences on the profits of our company. At the event, two important customers came to me, and talked to me about a piece of big international news that just happened a few days ago. Fortunately, since I had always paid attention to global news, we had a great conversation, thereby leaving them a good impression and further benefiting our cooperation. I am sure that if I had not focused on events happening all over the world, I could not have had such a successful conversation with them.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that it is essential for individuals to stay focused on news occurring in the world. This is because knowing global affairs not only allows people to avoid negative events from happening again, but also creates topics for us to discuss with others.