Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teacher plays an important role in every individual's life, since they educate students about academic knowledge, the way they get along with others, and the attitude they face problems. Some people may argue that teachers gain more respect from societies in recent years, I firmly believe that teachers are more valued by people in the past than now. I consider this way based on several reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, most parents protect their children more nowadays, thereby viewing teachers as more insignificant compared with their children. That is to say, today when conflicts occur between kids and teachers, parents tend to stand by their children without sufficient consideration about which side makes more sense. Moreover, nowadays many parents do not want their kids to be punished and blamed at school by teachers. For instance, my grandparents told me that if they performed terribly or got a fight with other classmates at school, they will be hit and punished by teachers at school. Furthermore, if their parents got this kind of news from the teachers, the parents would apologize to the teachers sincerely, and blamed the kids strictly. In contrast, one of my classmates engaged in a fight with others in the class in high school; however, after my classmate's mother was informed about this, she came to the school and blamed the teacher furiously. She argued that the teacher did not maintain the peaceful atmosphere in class, and protect her kid from the fight.

Secondly, teaching was a high-level job among others decades ago, but now, it does not gain such a high reputation as before. To be specific, in the past, parents always expected their children to grow up to be teachers, doctors, or engineers, since these jobs ensure high salaries and stabilities. Therefore, these occupations were highly appreciated and respected by society at that time. Nonetheless, due to a diversity of industry development, more and more various occupations occur, and each job gradually become equivalently viewed by people. Consequently, teachers were no longer valued as much as they were several decades ago.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that teachers were more valued in the past than they are in recent years. This is because parents are much more protective toward their children nowadays, therefore teachers are not valued that much in comparison. In addition, the status of teachers among all occupations is not as high as it was decades ago.