Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether teachers were more appreciated and valued in the past than nowadays is a heated discussed topic in the school recently. While some of the people believe that teachers were more grated and valued in modern society than past. I disagree with the idea because of the following reasons.

There were less knowledge sources and populations in old society than now which is a key reason why teachers were more appreciated in old times. To elaborate, there were far fewer people could get educated in the past. With only a little money saved at home for many people, it was impossible for them to get their kids educated. Students felt much more grateful for teachers in the past than now because the opportunity of getting educated was rare. Since there were only a few people could be educated, teachers and students had better relationships in the past. They tended to feel more grateful for teachers.

The social status of teachers was higher because knowledge sources and job opportunities were less in the past. To begin with, there were far fewer means for people to get information in old days. Education from teachers was a significant way for everyone to increase their knowledge. So teachers were valuable when people wanted to increase their knowledge capacity. In the meantime, there were fewer jobs, and teachers were fewer in people who had a job. It was likely that people who had a formal job possessed a higher social status in the past than now. There was no doubt that being a teacher was a formal job, so teachers had a superior social status.

In conclusion, having fewer knowledge sources in old times and a superior social status are the reasons why I think teachers were more appreciated and valued in the past than nowadays.