Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of how much teachers would influence the society. I definitely think that teachers were more appreciated in the past than they are today. It is my firm believe that for a number of reasons, the value of the teacher's work are significanlty understimated and they are not valued as they deserve nowadays.I will develope these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, there is no doubt that this era is the era of the internet and social media. More access to the internet, more online tutors and free courses the Individuals have and this can influence people's opinion about the role of teachers. They may neglect the role of teacher by assuming that the internet can do what teachers used to. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. I used to be a private tutor years ago and the people's appericiation was inspiring but, as soon as the use of internet became popular, my job opportunities declined. It is certainly clear to see why society do not appereciate teachers as they used to.

Secondly, the parent's encounters with the teachers has declined these days because they do not enough time to take care of modern life’s tons of responsibilities. The lack of communication between teachers and the society might be misunderstanding for the parents as they may assume that teachers have a shadow role in their children lives. Drawing from my own experience as a teacher, the parents who did not attend in the school meetings had less respects for the school’s staff. It is certainly clear to see why society have less respect for the teachers nowadays.

In light of the reasons mentioned, although there are always some exceptions which are excluded from the general trend, I strongly believe that the society have mush less respects for the teacher than the past.