Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People will be always responsible to the decisions they made and they must be ready to face their choices' consequences. No one can deny the role of parents in decision-making process of their children. Some people believe that in these times, children tend to be more depended on their parents, however, it is my firm belief that this dependency is dramatically decreasing for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, in these day and age, individuals are overwhelmed with the wide range information sources. This could be misleading in some cases, however, I think the access to these amount of data could help everyone to be released from the dependency on other's opinions when making a decision. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience in the process of choosing the appropriate major in my gradate studies. My enrollment in my bachelor degree was the result of my consultation with my parents, however, in my gradate studies, my only consultant was the data from the internet. For this reason children are more independent on their decisions these days.

In addition, having a wide range networks are an important factor that may effect children's preferences. By the help of internet and social medias, people are more likely to be connected to each other. This can happen in whether working networks or other communities. Drawing from my own experience, when looking back to my professional career, one of the most important factors that led me to this step, was using LinkedIn as a source of useful information and advices choosing my field of expertise. It is certainly clear to see why parent's role is obviously decreasing.

In light of the reasons mentioned, although there are always exceptions which are excluded from a general rule, I strongly believe that children are becoming more and more autonomous in their life decisions.