Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, teachers play a significant role in our society, who is relating to the educational quality of the whole society directly. However, some people come up with the statement that teachers are less appreciated and valued recently than they are used to be. In my opinion, though the claim is quite counter-intuitive, it is true. Here I will give several reasons to support my opinion.

Firstly, the number of teachers is continously increasing, leading to they are not so appreciated and valued by society. In the past, we didn't have so many teachers as today, thus, many of us were curious and mysterious about teachers. Under such a sense, we were more easily to appreciate and value teachers. However, the number of today's teachers has increased a lot, which enables more and more people have the opportunity to react or deal with teachers. What's more, it's no longer a rare thing that we make friends with teachers. Therefore, we gradually treat teacher as normal profession and less appreciate the people of the profession. Just take myself as an example. Both of my parents are teachers, in other words, I stay with teachers every day. Under such a background, I feel no special about teachers (even my own tutors) while many of my friends treating teachers as a group of people who are very strict and rigorous. It's obvious that I don't appreciate and value teachers as mamy of my friends because I have more interaction with teachers.

Secondly, teachers are getting more and more kind and more easily to deal with. In the past, teachers often left us with a strict and unreachable impression. What's more, because of the lack of related laws, the phenomenon of teacher punishing students were common, which led to bad memories of many people and made teachers seem more distant from us. With those impression and memories since childhood, we were more easily to appreciate and respect teachers. However, with the complement of related laws, teachers cannot punish their students anymore, or they will get punished by the law and get complains from parents. Therefore, teachers become more kind, closer and easier to get along with, and they are less appreciated and valued by society. For example, students in today's middle schools have the right not to finish their homework if they think it is too much without the agreement of teachers. It's no longer the case that students had to finish all of their homework even until mid-night, or they would get punished by teachers.

All in all, teachers are less appreciated and valued by society indeed, because the number of them are increasing and the attitudes of them are improving.