Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Looking back into the history of media, there is no doubt that multimedia industry, specifically movies and television had the most influence on people's lives. No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of the way they affect individual's behavior, especially young people, it is my firm belief that the bright side is more obvious than the other. I definitely believe that these mediums have more positive effects and I will develop this idea in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, behavioral studies is one of the most complex fields in the psychology researches, especially when it comes to studies about the young individuals. There are a wide variety of parameters that can affect young people and how they behave socially and personally. Therefore, with the existence of mediums such as cinema or television, spreading the word and cultures could be very fast and effective. Imagine Martin Luther King's speech for instance, what kind of newspaper or textual medium would have such influence as the TV had by reporting that speech? And is this kind of positive effect is even comparable to any other negative effects of this media on people?

In addition, individuals should take the responsibility of their acts and it is not reasonable to always blame other parameters for behavioral disorders in a society. Movies or television not only do not effect people in a bad way, but they also can teach them the important stuffs that the school and educational systems will never teach. Drawing from my own experience when I was an elementary school student, I remember one of the teachers did not do his job at all. He only tended to blame TV shows for the student's weaknesses but the most important reason was him not doing his job.

In light of the reasons mentioned, although there are always some exceptions which are excluded form a general rule, I strongly believe that movies and other multimedia not only did not bring bad affects, but also they change young people's lives in a positive way.