Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It's heatedly discussed at the campus whether we should know about what happens around the world rather than live in our own lives. From my perspective, I think it's significant for us to know about events happening in the world for the following two reasons.

Firstly, knowing the big events happening in the world refreshes our knowledge and makes it possible for us to keep pace with the world's development. Taking my own experience for instance. Six months ago, the appearance of chat-GPT astonished everyone in the world. I tried to use chat-GPT the first time it was available for me. I tried to use chat-GPT to assist me in writing homework and some emails. It really increases my working efficiency. And I can feel the great success of artificial intelligence development happening in the world. Unfortunately, when I talked with my roommates, I found they didn't even know what chat-GPT is. Nor did they use it in bonusing their work and study efficiency. The whole work mode of them still holds several years ago.

Secondly, knowing what's happening helps us maintain a good relationship with our friends. We can talk to our friends about those big events in the world. It enables us to avoid talking about some personal topics which may hurt people sometimes. And talking about things happening around makes it more comfortable for us to communicate, it even helps us get out of some embarrassing situations, like two friends sitting together and having nothing to talk about. So talking about those events in the world is really a good way to chat.

In conclusion, these are the two reasons why I think we should know what's happening in the world. It keep us maintain the pace with the world and helps us develop a better relationship with friends.