Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Sometimes, people are unable to live alone; therefore, friend plays an essential role in most individuals' lives. Some people may assert that it is crucial to make new friends, while I firmly believed that maintaining the relationships with old friends is more beneficial. I consider this way for several reasons which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

The first advantage came to my mind of keeping old friends is they understand better about me. In this way, when I encounter difficluties in life, they would provide me with useful suggestions which are drove from my personalities and past experiences. Drawing back from my personal story, I was once being so hard to determine which company to enter when receiving two job offers, one from a big company of a relatively trivial position, the other from a small start-up of a manager position. I shared the trouble with a group of close friend from high school, and asked for their advice. What surprising to me was that they consistently suggest me to take the offer of being a manager in the start-up. They further elaborated that according to my strong personality, I would not satisfy if doing trivial jobs in big company, and it really fit my characteristic to lead a group in an energatic start-up. Finally, I accepted their advice and are now working pleasently as a manager in a small but passionated company.

On top of that, old friends are more willing to spend time company with me when I am facing a frustrating time. For example, I broke up with my ex-boyfriend last year. That was such a long and impressive relationship that I was extremely depressed after we decided to keep each other apart. At that period, my best friend from childhood asked me to move to her apartment, and stayed with me most of the time. Although I keep expressing negative energy to her, she paciently comforted me without any disatisfaction. I recovered soon because of her. I believed that if we had not become friends for decades, and had not keep strenghtening our relationship through out our lives, she would not have spend those precious time with me.

To sum up, I am of the perspective that maintaining old friends is way more significant than making new friends. This is because old friends know me better so that they can provide functional suggestion to me when I face problems. Moreover, it is more likely for old friends than for new friends to spend time with me when I am having hard times.