Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Human beings are social creatures; we all need to keep in contact with other people. In this regard, friends are a constituent part of individuals’ lives, and they play a paramount role in their either career or emotional life. The majority of people are impressed by their friends dramatically; therefore, having good friends can lead them to climb the ladder of success. On the contrary, bad friends can inhibit them from reaching their goals. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that cementing a friendship with an old friend is more valuable whereas, others hold exactly the opposite perspective. There is a saying that “old is gold”; therefore, I strongly believe that keeping your old friends is more important than striking up new friendships. In the following paragraphs I will delve into three conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

The most significant point to be mentioned is that old friends are those with whom individuals can trust and share everything while, it takes time to build such a friendship with new people. In other words, trust between two friends is more strong compared to a recently developed friendship. Moreover, trust and honesty are two contributing factors in having a long-lasting friendship. As time passes, these characteristics develops, and they can be gained only by the elapse of time. On the other hand, you need to more time so as to establish a rapport with someone new and trust him as much as you did against your old friends.

It is important to bear in mind that old friends are those we have already spent our time together. Furthermore, Old friends are the people we are familiar with weaknesses and strengths of their friends. Take a personal experience as an example, my friend who is an introverted person and has Glossophobia, fear of public speaking, was invited to give a lecture. I was aware of her fear so, I arranged an appointment for her with a psychologist. Consequently, not only she overcame her phobia but also, her was a highly successful presentation. If I were not her old friend, she would not attend the conference in order to present her article.

Another paramount reason which should be referred to is that people spend more time with their friends and experience out precious moments together. To shed light on this issue, me and my friend lived within walking distance of our high school; therefore, every morning we walked to school. After years when we visited there, the past pleasant memories evoked. In addition, friendships are bonded as an elapse of time

To recapitulate, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that having a good relationship with old friends is more essential than building new rapports with new people. Old friendships creates many memories, trust and bonding between individuals which cannot be forgotten.