TPO 3 Independent Writing Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

"Show me your friend then I can say who you are." Friends are important part of our life. Some people concur that gaining new friends is more significant than keeping old friends. However, I disagree with this notion and argue that maintaining old friendships is more important for three reasons and I will develop these ideas in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, we say old friend because we met him or her a long time ago. That means we know each other very well. For example, I have very old friend and first time we met on school twenty-two years ago. He knows me very well. He knows almost all of my strengths and weaknesses. Thus, he can understand my problem without I notice him on every situation. Additionally, he know the best solution for my problem. It is also same for me. I can predict what he needs before he tells me. In addition to this, we can clearly state our problems to each other. In contrast, I can not share some personal situations and get advice from my relatively new friends. For this reason, continuing my old friendships is always my first priority.

Second of all, no one can deny that believing each other is one of the most important things in any type of relationship. In my opinion, this strong credence exists more in mature relationships. Drawing from my own experience, when I choosen partner for my new large start-up company, I filtered all of my friends based on how much I believe them rather than their skills and experience. Because, how can you share important information and other things which are precious for you without believing that person? It is certainly clear to see why keeping old friends should be primary reason rather than winning novel friends.

Third of all, convenient modern life of today have many hardships. People should work hard in order to satisfy their needs and survive. For instance, when I was child, I could not see my father except weekends. There is little time for socializing and spending with family or friends. To me, that is correct for most of the population. Hence, if we consistently get new friends, we can not take time for all of them equally. At the end, we will have a lot of weak friends and relationships.

To make a long story short, for the three reasons outlined above, I am of the opinion that having a few old close friends is more important than having a lot of weak friendships.