Independent TOEFL essay TPO 8 Agree or disagree Television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five should not be allowed

People are bombarded with advertisements on everyday life. Many people have different opinions about advertising. Author asserts that, young children should not be exposed to commercials. I strongly disagree with this notion for two reasons and I will develop these ideas in the following paragraphs.

First of all, I see nothing wrong with promotions if they prepared correctly. What I mean when saying correctly? If there is no sexual or unwanted scenes and elements in the advertisement, there should not be any problem. In my opinion, there are government regulatory agencies that control advertisements in all sectors. Thus, if there is something wrong with promotion, it won't be published. In addition, because children usually watch child channels and its commercials are mostly designed for young children' interests, there seems no harm for children.

Secondly, no one can deny that children spend most of their time with watching cartoons et cetera. According to the latest researches, it is useful for improving their imagination. In order to continue showing that kind of sfuffs, channels need advertisiment revenues. It is also beneficial for companies. If you are a company that produces toys, your major target group is children. Drawing from my own experience, it is really useful method and works very well. For instance, when my little brother was child and watching this kind of TV channels, he really gave a lot of attention to commercials that saw in the TV. Almost every day, he came and asked from my parents to buy a new toy that just saw in TV. Of course, I do admit that it can be harmful for family's budget, but for the reason I stated above, channels should display commercials.

In light of reasons mentioned, I strongly believe that television advertising aimed to children should be allowed. Furthermore, TV channels that are not exclusive for kids, but had time slot for cartoons for example, lost revenue as a result from this new law forbidding ads for children. With this, fewer channels now have this dedicated space for a younger audience. For instance, growing up in a not really wealthy family, I did not have cable TV and relied on the Kids show on free channels to have some fun. And now, I know for a fact that the show that I used to watch as a kid, with lots of cartoons, stopped airing, because there is no financial support.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that ads targetting younger audiences should be allowed. This is because without these ads, kids are subjected to adult-related ads, that are not in their interest, and also, because children have less options for consuming content.