Independent TOEFL essay TPO 8 Agree or disagree Television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five should not be allowed

People are bombarded with advertisements in everyday life. Many people have different opinions about advertising. prompt asserts that young children should not be exposed to commercials. I strongly disagree with this notion for two reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the following paragraphs.

First of all, I see nothing wrong with promotions if they are prepared correctly. What do I mean when I say correctly? If there are no sexual or unwanted scenes or elements in the advertisement, there should not be any problem. In my opinion, there are government regulatory agencies that control advertisements in all sectors. Thus, if there is something wrong with the promotion, it won't be published. In addition, because children usually watch child channels and their commercials are mostly designed for young children's interests, there seems no harm for children.

Secondly, no one can deny that children spend most of their time watching cartoons, etc. According to the latest research, it is useful for improving their imagination. In order to continue showing that kind of content, channels need advertising revenues. It is also beneficial for companies. If you are a company that produces toys, your major target group is children. Drawing from my own experience, it is a really useful method that works very well. For instance, when my little brother was a child and watching this kind of TV channel, he really paid attention to the commercials that he saw on the TV. Almost every day, he came and asked my parents to buy him a new toy that he had just seen on TV. Of course, I do admit that it can hurt families' budgets, but for the reasons I stated above, channels should display commercials.

In light of the reasons mentioned, I strongly believe that television advertising aimed at children should be allowed.