Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people wonder whether it is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends?. In my opinion, even though making new friends is important, it is not as crucial as to maintain old friendships?. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, a long lasting friendship is not a thing that can be easily established. It requires constant connection and thoughtful attitude from each person, which increases the value of the friendship. For example, if imagine someone has an old friend who lives in a different country and if they can manage to preserve their connection by meeting each other's countries, this represents how meaningful their friendship is for them. Whereas, new friendships lack this kind of effort people put for each other, thus, it can not reach the level of value that old friendships achieved.

Secondly, the more time people spend together, the better they know each other. Therefore they become capable of holding deep conversations which strengthens the bond between them. My personal experience is a compelling example of this, I have an old friend whom ı talk about my precious moments with. These conversations I have with him have led to the formation of a special friendship between us. In other words, we share many things with us that we may hesitate to share with our newer friends.

Lastly, new friends can be unpredictable. One should be prepared to deal with any kind of behaviour until spending adequate time with his new friend. On the other hand, old friends are reliable and do not surprise us, hence they deserve to be behaved more cautiously.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that old friendships are more worthwhile than new friendships. This is because the work to sustain it turns out to be a triumph, people tend to build stronger bonds when they know each other for a long time and old friends are more predictable. As a result ,in my view, it is vital to sustain old friendships rather than building a new one.