It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

1/public transportation is the cornerstone of all the subsequent construction. There's a famous Chinese saying:" If you want to be wealthy, built roads first" Basic infrastructure is a rewarding necessity for connecting the most fringe and deprived villages with prosperous and developed cities.

2/People gain opportunities to touch the outside world, not in a virtual way but in the real world. Household goods to medical supplies are transformed easily, which may assure necessities and prop up the livelihoods of the farmers.

3/Government subsequent construction can be more efficiently implemented. Compare with unpaved roads, highways are more easily to convey building materials such as rocks, glass, metals, concrete, and so forth, people have no need to suffer from bumpy roads and threaten by unknown dangers. Not to mention high-speed infrastructure. For example, a couple of years ago when I was young in elementary school, visiting relatives during the Lunar New Year was an arduous trek as long distance and inconvenient transportation system. We had to take at least half a day confining ourselves on hard seats inside a narrow coach, meanwhile suffering from stale air and bumpy roads. After the long torture, we arrived provincial capital and still needed to transfer on a bus to a small city and then take a cab home. My mother always got motion sickness and felt nauseous, the first thing while getting into my grandparents' home was to take a rest. With the improvement of public transportation these years, now we can come back hometown within six hours by safe and clean high-speed rail, no need to get anxious about it anymore. In that case, not for me but all people can benefit from it, sophisticated teachers and doctors have chances to contribute to those areas with less psychological struggles, thus a virtuous cycle forms.

4/A voice rises that efficient transportation can cause the exodus of the workforce and lead to left-behind children and empty nesters problems. However, these two aspects are not incompatible, we should pay equal attention to them, like providing psychotherapy and social services. Without public transportation, all of these are just pie in the sky.