After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

In modern days, it appears to some that due to the highly rapid development of technology, unprecedentedly diverse information flood into our mind and we are pushed forward without taking a breath, thus, gap year is reasonable. Others maintain a conservative view that high school graduates should get into university seamlessly. Both of these ideas have their bases, they need to be scrutinized meticulously, in my opinion, taking some time off before college is necessary.

First of all, from a school official perspective, one or more years' intervals provide an opportunity to gain more suitable applicants rather than haphazard ones. For example, students went through one-year deliberation, may apply for majors which match their interests, aspirations, work experience, and budgets. Yet those who are just out of high school may only think about grades without poring over all categories, even pick blindly under a sense of urgency.

Moreover, from a student perspective, juveniles after graduating are utterly ignorant about how and where to step forward, they need thinking time. For instance, my cousin Jason chose to gap for one year because his high school is a highly and purely competitive place where he can only focus on textbooks and grades and only have a vague silhouette of future stuff. During the interval, he traveled to four countries and uncountable tourist attractions. Those exotic and aesthetic historical sites and natural scenery touches the deep of his heart. After returning he mapped out all colleges containing Art History majors and submitted his applications. Lastly, not only did he get accepted but also scraped tuition up from part-time jobs during that year.

A voice rises that young people should not waste time on meaningless wandering, gap year is another excuse for procrastination. However, without relaxing in moderation, a tense string will eventually get snapped. Hit the pause to consider what we truly require will form a better mindset and a healthier coping mechanism to level up our compatibility.

Therefore, thinking out of the box, and gaining passion and vigor may be a wiser choice to shape our future. Life is short, but twenty-somethings have nothing but time, trial and error is the only weapon against irreversible regret. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand people's eyes, I think my opponents will compromise after reading my article.