Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Few would deny that learning is a life-long journey. When it comes to the choices for graduated high school students gaping one year to explore more dimensions of life or immediately throwing themselves into the next stage of studying, I would vote for the former for several primary reasons that I will fully explain in the following.

In the first place, taking a gap year is capable of refreshing high school students with a better condition to continue learning. There is no doubt that relaxation plays an essential role in individuals' daily life to help them to reach their goals further. After the long run of exerting themselves to get better scores, high school students need more time to take rest and adjust their conditions. Taking a year to have a journey to wherever they desire to have a look will definitely offer them broader horizons and a better work-life balance.

In the second place, it is only by experiencing more that the students are able to set their personal goals more explicitly. Every student is required to choose their major even before they start their journey in the universities. There are large quantities of occasions when students find themselves disinterested in their major after finishing courses for years and even the whole four years in college. If the regretful students had the opportunity to experience more jobs and occupations through working on their own or observing more in their journeys, they would no doubt know what kinds of education suit them better so that they would be capable of shaping a path to a successful career.

Last but not least, there is no doubt that gaping to work can decrease the economic burden of tuition for students getting into a university. No matter whether a student chooses to do a part-time job at a café or a supermarket, he or she will not only obtain deserved salaries but also learn something out of class. Taking myself as an instance, I had an internship at a local government department during the summer vacation. I was so grateful for the money I earned covering my student loan, which extremely relieved my economic pressure to continue college studies. It is definitely beneficial for students in a tight economy to take a gap year.

Taking all the things mentioned into consideration, I definitely suggest high school students take a one-year gap before continuing their studying at the university with regard to more relaxation, clearer goals in life, and lighter economic burdens.