Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Would you prefer to take courses taught by professors with whom you have already had other classes during your past years of study, or would you prefer to take courses with professors whose classes you have never taken before? Why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Few would deny that learning is a lifelong and colorful process so that individuals have their own preferences to decide which way they can absorb more knowledge and exert themselves into studying more efficiently. While some may prefer having courses with totally unfamiliar professors for the feeling of freshness, I would like to vote for the professors with whom I have already had other courses for several primary reasons.

In the first place, familiar professors possess the overwhelming advantage of providing me with more accurate and personalized suggestions. A professor with whom I have already been familiar in other courses naturally saves the progress of getting to know me and my learning habits. When I encounter some troubles in the process of finishing a course project, the professor is no doubt capable of giving me tips that are more suitable for my own circumstance. Taking my personal experience as an instance, the professor of my Advanced Math class also holds my Optimization course. Caught by a problem for a few days, I went to him for some suggestions to solve the puzzle and he told me that it is because I had a shortcoming of failing to understand the meaning of the problem rather than that my calculation ability is sufficient that I could not figure out the question.

In the second place, professors with whom students have already taken courses can release the stress of students taking part in another course. When students are faced with the situation of being required to participate in a difficult course such as astrophysics, it is common that they may feel so stressed out that they would be reluctant to attend courses or even fail to get into the classroom. However, given a familiar professor who is known to be patient or easygoing, the stress will be released so that it has more positive effects on the students.

Last but not least, nothing can be more pleasant to be praised by a professor from different aspects. A student can be strongly ignited and encouraged by a professor who can appreciate his or her excellence from different courses. My friend XiaoLing provides a vivid example of this statement. It is when she was commended by our Chinese Literature and Chinese Poetry professor for her talent in writing and her brilliance in capturing the beauty of poems that she decided to chase her dream in literature and she finally accomplished a novel of 700000 words.

Taking all these mentioned advantages into account, there is no doubt that I would prefer a familiar professor for more personalized suggestions, less stress or reluctance in courses, and more motivation to behave myself best, which offers positive effects in the long run of learning.