The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Seemly plausible to hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep, it is so vulnerable in logic that the statement is completely a nonsense of abundant flaws. Nothing can be more ridicule than the standard of choosing employees by their need of sleeping hours per night.

First of all, the sample of 300 male and female attended in this interview is skeptical. Where are they come from? Can they represent the various stratums of different labor sorts? How long is the age range between them? The biased sample can corrupt the credence of an interview or a study.

Second, that the sleeping hours of the interviewees are associated with the success of their firms is ungrounded. How to assess the successful intense of a firm? If a firm is defined as successful, whether the assessing standard should be based on the profit it makes annual or on the speed of its profit growing is unsured. And the assessing standard and proportion have not be given so that it is durable.

Third, it is skeptical that the standard sleeping time is defined as 6 hours. Why this standard of sleeping hours is given is still opaque. It is possible that the researchers only set a standard of dividing persons into two groups of sleeping more or less 6 hours and they did not explore deeper relationships between the sleeping hours length and their progress on people, which is vulnerable to buttress the statement.

Fourth, the sleeping hours can affect human’s working efficiency in some ways, but the influence and interrelation are still remained to be explore more by more clinical researches. For instance, Steven Jobs gets up early in the morning and he can keep vigorous the whole day without more sleeping, while the champion Gu Ailin needs more than 10 hours sleep to keep the efficiency of training. We are not capable of judging a person’s sleeping hours to divide him or her into groups of high efficiency or low efficiency.

What’s more, the statement mentioned that a film’ success includes two important indexes, the annual profit and the growing speed of the firm. Yet there are more essential indexes to assess a firm, rather the mere two mentioned, such as the social popularity of a firm or the worker’s judgments of a firm. A successful firm needs to fulfill so many requirements that it is not plausible to assess a film only by its profits.

To draw a conclusion, the statement is full of logical flaws that it is not supposed to be promoted by any firms unless a firm wants to go into the end by soon.