Technology/internet has made children less creative than they were in the past. It has more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

In modern days, due to the rapid evolution of technology and diversification of applications, interconnection among different people from two sides of the world has been a convenient thing that is taken for granted. Children nowadays spend more time using electronic devices than before. Some people have a negative attitude toward technology because getting in touch with the Internet too early stifles innovation of young blood and has more drawbacks than advantages. Yet, in my opinion, it depends.

Internet algorithm showcases talented and creative people all around the world through a 5-inch screen, smart kids around us seem not that rare anymore. But in essence, they don't differ from the past, or even have more opportunity to realize their thoughts and demonstrate them to others through various platforms. For example, kids who love music can easily listen to their favorite bands on Spotify or Apple Music, and they can discover different genres like Electronic, Classical, Metal, Indie, R&B, or even Podcasts and Audiobooks. They don't have to search shop by shop just for one record. After being inspired by those artists, when it comes to creation, there are tons of instrument tutorials that vary from piano, cello to electrical guitar, percussion, and so forth, from entry-level to advanced level. Even automated tutors online are available. Not only provide knowledge but also live feedback on students' performances. Kids have more methods than ever before to render their imaginary worlds and capture their followers.

Technology is a double-edged sword. In addition to benefit from the Internet, kids may also lose themselves in the exposure to diverse information. For profit, tech companies set subtle tricks to lull susceptible kids and adults into addiction, many people wallow in unconscious scrolling without noticing it. Many kids are even influenced by consumerism and addicted to mindless comparison like squandering in games to get fancy items for showing off or pursuing luxury clothes and bags to pretend rich. Most of these kids don't have a healthy relationships with their family and friends, so they tend to seek love and attention from external objects, when they get disenchanted and realize the truth, they will get more pressure and anxiety than others, which even leads to irreversible outcomes. Thus the ability on coping with the relationship between technology and themselves mostly depends on education from parents. Kids grow up with correct guidance and prompt rectification learns about critical thinking and consciously sift out valuable knowledge without sinking into filter bubbles.

A voice rises that people are more attentive and creative in the past than nowadays because of less distraction from entertainment. However, technology is changing consistently and inevitably. The bottom line is, we need to update our mindset to embrace and harness it and treat it as a tool, not a monster or a savior. People should urge their government to set regulations by legislation rather than just blame everything on it.

Therefore, Children never lose their creativity, and the Internet has enormous potential on both positive and negative sides depending on how we wield it. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand people's eyes, I believe my opponents will compromise after reading my article.