TPO 65 Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good

Along with the development of society, innovations in education seem to flourish more and more throughout its history. In recent years, although there's been a number of educators who have tried giving students group projects as they believe it's one of the optimal ways to assess students, I'm of the opinion that this method does not work efficiently as it is supposed to.

First of all, a group project does not always fully reflect the effort of each members in the group. Not every individual assigned in a group is a responsible and diligent student as they should be. In fact, there are always some in the team who truly care about their academic performance and always strive for the best possible grades, and some who are in the opposite position, being satisfied with any grade they receive. As a result, it is usually the responsible students who do most of the work in order to achieve the score they want. Everyone would agree that it is not fair and not transparent if both hard-working students and lazy ones are marked the same grade with the substantially different amount of work they put in. That is not to mention, in the end, it's only the most participating students who are assessed correctly and never the indifferent ones.

Another factor that makes the method of giving all group members the same score an ineffective way of grading is that it can truly have negative impacts on students' education and academic ability. If students know they are in the same group with some excellent students and that their homework assignment will be taken care of by them, they won't bother participating enthusiastically in the project. What's worse is when those students start to develop the mindset that they don't even have to worry about doing anything in their group work and still get good grades. This causes them to have the wrong attitude towards the purpose of working in teams and learning in general, which dramatically affects their performance at school in the long run. Ironically enough, they may get good grades in their school reports but little understanding of what they was taught in class.

In conclusion, giving group assignments can be a great way for students to build their teamwork skills, yet it can also lose its original purpose if students are not taught about how to work together effectively first. Evaluating all group members the same only makes sense if all students take equal part in the process.