Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

There is a very famous saying that has been passed down from generations to generations: Jack of all trades is the master of none. So many generations have passed, yet I feel that the value of this saying still remains relevant. Although it appears the more the better, I strongly believe one should focus on pursuing one specialized major in order to achieve the best in life.

First of all, although it sounds amazing to be a human encyclopedia who has a bit of knowledge of everything, the journey of becoming one may lead the generalists to undesirable destinations. This is because knowing only basic knowledge of a subject don't seem to be of much help in reality when everyone has to make a living. Our society is more in need of specialists and experts who understand their field deeply and can process their job in an effective manner. This is also the reason why all universities and colleges are constituted of different schools and departments. Their primary goal is to prepare students for their future career as well as to provide society with an academically well-equipped workforce. Even if there was a school of general knowledge, there is no guarantee its graduates will be valued in the real life, leading them to little job opportunities.

Similar to how it is described in the saying, trying to gain a broad knowledge by pursuing many different academic schools equals missing the possibility to be a specialist in one field. This becomes a disadvantage, especially when it comes to finding a purpose and having a direction in academic journey. For example, a student majoring in pedagogy knows her focus is on excelling all pedagogical approaches and continuously doing research on the subject to gain better grasp of it. On the contrary, a student choosing to study general knowledge has no other goal but to touch on other fields they haven’t discovered. The main different between the two is that the first one can see the destination of their journey while the other can not. Although having general knowledge on everything is not a negative thing, the lack of a clear path while pursuing it can be a problem.

In conclusion, since the two statements inevitably exclude each other, it makes the best choice to focus and master one certain academic subjects, considering the ambiguous future of being a generalist.