Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples

In today's chaotic life, education is the cornerstone of society, which determines its prosperity or retardance. However, some educational issues raised challenges, one of which is grading students. In this vein, some people believe that allocating all the team members the same score is not rational and fair, while others oppose this view. I strongly concur with the latter group for 2 primary reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the entire group exerts more and less the same amount of work, making it reasonable for teachers to dedicate the same grade to individuals. To be more specific, splitting tasks between members in proportion to their abilities and capabilities is the first step. If the first step is put correctly in the way of implementing the project, the outcome would be an equivalently shared workload with each group member, so as to deserve to achieve the same mark as others. Alloting alike marks to the whole possesses more benefits. In this regard, the teamwork spirit and cooperation skills would get improved in the group and each person goes beyond duties, senses responsibility, and actively takes part in accomplishing the group values and goals. I believe that achieving this goal also deserves to hold a part of the evaluation mark.

Secondly, assigning a resembling mark to the whole group prevents further conflicts between students and teachers. Actually, it is nonsense to expect a teacher to assess the share of work for each student correctly. Therefore, even though all students seem equal in the teachers' eyes, this might cast doubts on teachers' performance among students and lead them to the illusion that teachers' decisions are biased. Following this misinterpretation, students may show rude and disrespectful behaviors toward their teachers or even insult them in worse manners. If this inappropriate behavior affects teachers negatively, they may make sudden decisions to respond with either bad grades or dropping. I take my classmate as an example to clarify this. When I was in high school, Sara, one of my irresponsible classmates, was once my groupmate in the biology class, where we were supposed to write an article about DNA-based biosensors. She was too reluctant to do the research, which made me do the assignment all by me. As my teacher realized that I worked on the article alone, gave me a higher grade than Sara. This issue made her so furious that she started to ignore the teacher in the class. Even worse, she used to rub ketchup on the front window of my teacher's car once in a while to irritate her. Finally, they had a big fight in the schoolyard. I think if my teacher gave her the same grade as mine, these problems would have never happened.

To sum up, giving the same mark to the entire group is advantageous because not only it persuades students to split the work fairly and manage their progress but also it prevents probable future arguments between students and teachers.