Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Other believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork, which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, hectic life with swiftly advancing technology stipulates people to engage in their work for most of their day. As a result, they do not have much time to dedicate to their family, which in turn requires specific time management and prioritizing affairs. In this vein, some people believe that the best way to utilize the time they spent with their children is to indulge in entertainment activities, while the other group holds the opposite view, thinking that the best approach is to put that time into school chores. I, personally, concur with the former group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

The first and foremost reason for the above-mentioned concept is that having fun with all family members energizes the whole family and prepares them for their work, resulting in elevating their performance and efficiency. To be more specific, the family members usually have arduous duties, which need a plethora amount of energy. If the family has fun together, they can all relax and make some joyful memories, bonding family members together. This sense of satisfaction eventually works out and motivates family members to make progress in their work, specifically in school kids. On the other hand, if they just talk with each other about concerns and stresses of their affairs, this brings a negative feeling, which separates the family. An example can make this complex context clearer. My parents both work in a pharmaceutical company. I have a younger sister, who is a high school student. In their leisure, my sister shares some of her beloved works with my parents. They either go out and enjoy roaming the city or stay at home and do fun things like watching movies. In this way, my sister rests and frees her mind of school thoughts. I never saw her become stressed about homework or the upcoming tests, which has helped her gain perfect scores and pass her courses with the highest quality. I believe that if my parents exerted conversely and did school-associated tasks together all the time, my sister would have been too tired of school and had a decline in her efficiency.

The second reason for the aforementioned notion is that maybe the parents are not qualified to help their children with their school tasks, which puts a huge burden on their shoulders and enhances their worries. Indeed, the educational system today is so different from what it was in our previous generation’s era. Recently, advances in science have created a gap between what parents learned in school and what their children are studying today. Accordingly, parents may not be successful to teach the principles to their children, which in turn makes them feel ashamed. There is no need to explain that implementing in this way benefits neither parents nor their children. I take my friend as an example to clarify this issue. When I went to high school, I had a friend, Sara, whose parents finished high school 30 years ago and didn’t go to the university afterward. Sara always used to complain about her parents not being useful in helping her understand her lessons. Besides, when I saw Sara’s mother, she was always embarrassed that she is not capable of facilitating the perception of our lessons for her daughter. She was convinced that the best she can do as a good parent for her daughter is dedicating all her free time to Sara’s assignments, even though her efforts not be effective. Back then, I always speculated that if her parents had allocated their free time to have fun with Sara and entrusted educational work to a private teacher earlier, they did not encounter any anxiety.

In sum, when parents devote their extra time to having fun with their kids, they earn some advantages. They not only decrease the pressure of work as well as enhance family members’ output, but also prevent the added stress of taking care of children’s school work due to not being appropriate for teaching.