Do you agree or disagree with the following statement When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e mail they will produce better work for the project Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is clear the advent of the Internet has significantly affected our lifestyle in every aspect, from work to entertainment. Although many technophiles now prefer to discuss work over digital means of communication such as email, there are a number of reasons why meeting face-to-face results in better quality of work.

First, meeting in person produces a faster speed of project completion and a sense of work satisfaction through a high level of productivity and efficiency. When students or colleagues get together for a certain period of time, they will be able to quickly talk through their work plan at once, then start to concentrate on the project right away, instead of going through a long thread of mails for the plan to be settled, which inevitably consumes a lot of time. Moreover, when gathering at the same location, project doers are surrounded by other teammates who they may need to ask for opinions and assistance. For example, if a team member reports a problem or puts forward a new idea, he/she can be responded immediately by the others without having to patiently wait for an email reply. As a result, the quality of their project will keep improving through these instant discussions.

Another advantage of discussing work in real life lies in the direct communication of ideas. Without being separated by digital screens and restrained to visual means of expression such as texts and images, project members who are seeing each other in person can easily use different types of verbal and non-verbal expression in order to interact and make their point clear. In fact, a small movement of facial expression or a change in intonation can always provide hints to truly understand what the speakers are trying to convey. This will completely eliminate the possibility of assuming and misunderstanding the message, which may cause great disruption to the project progress or even hurt the relationships between students or colleagues working in it. As compared to plain written emails, face-to-face discussion seems to be a superior method of project communication.

In conclusion, given that emailing has several drawbacks regard to its inefficiency and lack of effective communication, meeting in person is always a better choice for project teams to achieve works of higher quality. Nevertheless, it is safe to say that knowing how to make proper use of each type of communication is key to having the best of both worlds.