TPO 66 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A controversial issue relating to whether successful people learn different skills, or they focus on one particular skill, has brought to the attention of relevant authorities. Many people believe that people who are master in something make them successful in life. On the contrary, in my view, individuals will reach easily their success if they try to develop different skills.

First of all, learning new skills will help people to have become more resilient and never give up their goals. To put it in other words, if people are able to learn new skills, which will come handy in the long run, they will be able to accomplish their goals. My experience is a compelling example of this matter. About a decade ago, when I came to America, I settled up my only goal, which was that I had to study hard in order to get my professional licence. As the years passed by, I went through a lot of obstacles. In fact, I think every one who approaches this path, it will face those difficulties. However, I always kept the attitude of never giving up, no matter what problem I had to face. I learned and developed new skills, which helped me to step forward. As a result of my optimistic state of mind, I kept going on. If I had given up to my goal, I would never have succeeded, and practice my profession, which I have passion on. Overall, this experience tells us that people should be resilient in order to succeed.

Furthermore, perhaps most importantly, developing new skills such as learn how to strongly communicate with others and be a good negotiator, it will lead people toward success. For instance, when my brother graduated from engineering school, he wanted to open his own business. It was hard for him because in order to be successful, he had to develop new skills such as how to effectively express his ideas and make smart decisions. He attended a program, where he learned how to approach in different situations and what language to use. After he finished the communication classes, he became a master of the language and as a result of that a good negotiator. Hence, it turned out that his business was one of the much accomplished once in our town. According to my brother's experience, it is clear that people should learn new skills in order to make them reach their goals.

In conclusion, people should be able to learn newer skills in order to reach success. This is because different skills will help them to become resilient, and make them reach their goals as they become good negotiators.