Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally, friends are the most influential people in our lives. They fill our lives with joy and purpose. It is thought by some people that we all should prioritize our old friends more than everybody else because they are truly royal to us. However, In my viewpoint, new friends have a special place in different stages of our lives. I feel this way for two reasons.

First of all, new people that we encounter throughout our lives have a special place in our heart because they have fulfilled our lives at that particular moment, which was meaningful for us. For example, about ten years ago, when I came to the United States, I met my new friends with whom I shared and spent a lot of time. That time was very crucial for me because I needed to have people around me that were able to encourage and help when I needed help. If I were not going to build new friendships, I would not have been able to enjoy my life in the same way that I use to before I came to America. It is essential for people to expend their relationships by making new friends because they would continue to live a happy live and meaningful. Thus, the importance of new people who we encounter is necessary for a good quality of life.

Second of all, new friends have a huge impact on our lives because we could learn from each other and develop new perspectives. For instance, I learned from my new friends a lot of interesting things, which were completely new for me. After I exposed myself to these new cultures, I immediately changed the way I was thinking about things, which sparked a new perspective on me. I envisioned my future differently than I did before I met these friends who had different backgrounds. If I had not moved to America, I would never had the chance to learn about diverse cultures and changed my perspectives in thinking. Making new friends is significantly important because we all need new people to surround us, so we could learn from each other and open our mind to diversity. Overall, it is better for everyone to create new friendships.

To conclude, the issue of whether new friends are important than old friends is complex. Some have suggested that old friends never replace the new friends. Nevertheless, I still contend that new friends play an important role in or lives.