TPO41: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement. Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

While society is developing and going on toward modernization, some rules and jobs get more respects and become more valuable and some other parts of jobs lose their previous value and respect among people. And I think teaching belongs to the second group. So I agree that teachers were more appreciated in the past for two reasons.

To begin with, I think the expectations of students and families changed and increased in the wrong way. Some parents think teachers are responsible for all aspects of raising their children while they don't trust them completely. for instance, they can't stand any rational punishment like homework or study a little more. And also they think their children are all innocent and every mistake is the teachers' fault. My mother is a teacher and every day, she should discuss all her time with parents that are misunderstood and angry because of some lies that their children told them. While they should behave respectfully and ask teachers to hear their sides of view.

Moreover, the relationship between teachers and students changed. Students feel more comfortable in class and even in private with their teachers and in other words, they became friends. This is not bad until the students forget their places as students and cross the line. It can turn the friendship space between them into a respectless relationship that is harmful to everyone.

Finally, some wrong approaches and behaviors from a few teachers made a negative perspective among parents and students. Of course, no one can deny these, but we should expand it to all teachers. We should detect these misbehavior and prevent them.

As a result of the above points, teachers get less appreciated by students, families and all in all, from society. But I think generally teaching is a valuable and rewarding job that affects straightly on the behaviors of people and It should back to its place and get more respect. So teachers will feel this respect and try harder to educate children in the right way, and we will have a better society.