TPO54: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Although these days, different sports have loads of popularity among people, I believe that various fields of arts need more money to improve and the government should prepare this support for them based on some reasons that I will illustrate them in the following paragraphs.

First of all, I feel that artists have more financial difficulties rather than athletes. Most professional athletes receive a lot of money and salary from their teams, while artists are somehow individual businesses. Their income is so limited, even if they were very talented. Besides, they need a lot of equipment and staff -that are usually expensive- to gain their income. So they need to be supported. Another financial problem of artists is in the domain of sponsorship, as it has mentioned in the question. I knew a group of photographers that were looking for a sponsor for months. The process of finding a private sponsor took a long time. If a governmental institute had helped them, they would throw their exhibition sooner, when they needed the money.

Secondly, the great fame of athletes is explicit to everyone, while artists are mostly unknown. I feel, if the government helps them with money, they can show their arts more and get a reputation. For example, the government can help them to rent or buy a gallery in a famous place so people can become more familiar with artists and their works.

Third, I think it can be a significant incentive for the young, that wish to become artists to pursue their passions. In my country, there are a lot of talented people that wanted to be artists. But they do not receive any financial aid from the government, so they have to leave art and look for another job to afford the expenses of life. Meanwhile, there are a lot of sports clubs that are dependent on the government, and they receive an immense amount of money from the government.

To sum up, in my conviction, the government must spend money in support of artists, and its importance is more noticeable for me due to the reasons that I explained.