Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The extended family grandparents cousins aunts and uncles is less important now than it was in the past Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Family has always been on top when it comes to the list of the most important things in life. However, as society has changed drastically over the past decades, there is also a shift in the way people identify and value their families. This explains why nowadays people tend to focus more on their nuclear family than on their extended relatives.

The first reason why the importance of extended family has shrunk significantly today can be pointed to the growing physical distance between family members. In the past, all generations of a big family were likely to live in the same house or in the same neighborhood. This closeness helped the members to form a strong bond and a generally interdependent relationship with each other. However, that is no longer the case for today's society. Nowadays, it is not uncommon to see family members move out as soon as they can. As all branches of an extended family scatter around the town, or even the world, their kinship seems to fade away and begin to be superseded by the connections with new neighbors who are not family but might be the first to help us out in an emergency.

Another reason why same-blood relatives have started to increasingly lose their position can be blamed on the busy life. For previous generations, family and relatives could be considered a part of their daily life. In fact, it would be unusual if a family didn’t meet up on a regular basis. I remember when I was a kid, all of my aunts and uncles' families would gather at my house every weekend. The adults would feast and start to catch up with each other even though they saw each other every week, and the children would just have fun. That was how I got to know all of my relatives and felt very comfortable striking up a random conversation with them. On the contrary, everyone seems to be so busy with work and their own family that the frequency of our family gatherings started to drop to only twice or three times a year. That was not to mention not all family members attend every meeting. I could feel that we has begun to grow apart ever since busy life took away our precious time. Less time spent together equals less strong connection, which leads to the lack of interaction among the members. Consequently, we gradually become more of acquaintances than blood relatives.

In conclusion, I believe the growing physical and mental distance due to the hectic pace of life has reduce the importance of extended family for most people. Even if this change is inevitable, somehow our relatives still have a special spot in our heart that if they are ever in need, we are always willing to give hand.