TPO 58 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Providing Internet access is just as important as other services such as building roads so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost Use specific reasons and e

In the recent decades, more and more people in the world have been able to connect with each other thanks to the advent of new technology as well as the Internet. Owning Internet connected devices has now become part of every individual in most countries. Although some governments believe that citizens should pay for their own Internet usage, I strongly agree with the idea that citizens should have the right to enjoy this service from governments without being charged.

There is no doubt that the Internet gives us the fastest and most convenient access to most information we may need in our life. This advanced technology has even been applied in warning citizens about prospective disasters that may threaten their life. Therefore, having Internet connection to obtain crucial information is a must if we want to survive in this fast-paced world. For example, Seoul governments had used Internet to spread the warning about a possible stampede in one of its districts, which helped many citizens to be able to get away and avoid the disaster. If it hadn't been for quick connection via free Internet offered in the city, a heartbroken incident might have happened. This is a typical example as for why the Internet should be available for all residents and thus provide them with sufficient information, especially on death-life matters.

Another reason why each local governments should consider installing free wifi in their city is that it strengthens and encourages the development of the country and the world as a whole. It is clear that we are living in a modern world where information has become one of the most valuable resources beside natural ones, such as gas and diesel. As a result, the most developed countries are ones that do not only have abundant resources but also instant access to important statistics and updates concerning the world’s economy and military situations. If all residents are able to use the Internet service, no matter where or when they are in the country, this will definitely be conducive to speeding up growth pace of the country. Even though employing that may cost a prohibitive amount in funding budget, the benefits it brings will be worthwhile.

In conclusion, since the Internet greatly contributes to the better life quality of citizens as well as the speedy rate of the country’s development, it should be considered as necessary as other services and facilities such as public transports and buildings. Governments should take steps to improve this important service if they truly care about citizens’ life and the country’s growth.