After making a presentation in class, you want to evaluate it. Which of the following do you think would be better for you?

1. Watch the recording by yourself

2. Invite other attenders to discuss and give opinions.

Choosing a way to evaluate a presentation can sometimes be a tough pill to swallow. I personally subscribe to the theory that asking others in order to evaluate me would be a lot better for me. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate my point of vie.

First and foremost, not everyone is capable of self-evaluation. We often view our performances such as class presentations as something that they are not in other word we tend to overestimate ourselves. On the contrary, different people have different thinking caps so by listening to others’ opinions we are provided with new perspectives and insights into our presentation; we can learn about our weaknesses and look at ourselves and our abilities of other people’s point of view. Consequently, we can spend some time focusing on our weaknesses and turn them into our strengths enlisting the helping hand of hard work and persistence. I remember last spring; I was supposed to give a lecture on applications of nano-structured materials in drug-delivery systems. I thought, I was pretty good at explaining the relevant terms, but when I asked my friends to listen to me while presenting, they told me that they had some difficulty keeping up with my pace and suggested that I should slow down. If I hadn’t asked for my friends’ opinions, I would have never been able to improve my presentation skills.

Secondly, It is common sense that being open to criticism is a very noble personality trait. People who are not afraid of being criticized by others, are more likely to become successful in their future career. Therefore, by asking others in order to evaluate one’s presentation, they’re being given the golden opportunity in order to become more tolerate to other people’s views of themselves. For instance, my uncle cannot stand others opinions, because he is not accustomed to it; my grandparents have always been so protective of him that they’ve never actually told him what they truly think of his actions. If my uncle have had the opportunity to have one of his presentations evaluated in a classroom, he wouldn’t have become so intolerant of what others think of him.

It is my foregone conclusion that being evaluated by others is a lot more beneficial than watching a recording of myself because I am not a good self-evaluator and others’ opinions might help me acknowledge my weaknesses and work on them in order to enhance the way I make presentations and it could be a great practice in order to become able to deal with criticism and others’ speculations.