Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Relationships play a really important role in every individual's life. I personally subscribe to the theory that being honest is the most important characteristic of a person whom one's in a relationship with. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate my point of view.

First and foremost, people who always tell the truth can help one to become a better version of themselves. People normally tend to view themselves as something they're not so having an honest friend or partner around can really help one to see themselves for they truly are. I remember a couple of years ago, I decided to attend a writing contest in Dubai and I decided to tell my friends about it. I always thought that I was able to write in a mesmerizing way that holds the readers' attention, So I asked my friends to read my essay and give me their opinion about it. They told me that the essay wasn't developed well and they had difficulty keeping up with it. Therefore, I spent a lot of time practicing in order to enhance my writing skills and ended up winning the contest. If my friends hadn't been honest with me, I would have never been able to win the competition.

In addition, Lying in a relationship can lead to trust issues, which can really harm one's mental health and stability. Liars, often tell the people they're in a relationship with, things they want to hear, and this can create an addictive bond between the two of them. Furthermore, in the case of most people, when they finally realize that they've been lied to, they start lying to themselves and keep denying the fact that the other person is a liar and refuse to break up because the addictive relationship has caused them to believe that they might not find someone again. This can go on for long periods of time, but when they finally come to the realization that they can't continue living this lie anymore, they find themselves trust broken and they start to feel like they can't trust anyone anymore and this consequently affects their current and future relationships with other people. For instance, my friend used to be in a relationship with a liar. I kept reminding her of the warning signs but she was so head over heels in love with him, that even the thought of breaking up with him made her sick to her bones, but when she finally took the initiative and broke up with him, she found out that she lost herself in the process of trying to avoid losing him. She started to doubt everyone and everything around her, she kept pushing everyone away and accusing them of being liars. It took nearly a year and several therapy sessions for her to put herself back together and start trusting people again. If my friend's partner would have been honest with her, none of this would have ever happened.

It's my firm conviction, that being honest all of the time is the most vital consideration in any form of relationship because an honest person is always nice to be around and to rely on, plus being in a relationship with an honest person can prevent the formation of trust issues and it's horrible consequences.