A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Humans are known to be social beings, since the beginning of evolution. Cooperating with other humans and living together for stronger survival of human race is a known fact. But with the rising population of human species, with no predominant threat for the extinction of human race, this sense of cooperation has dwindled. Humans are committing atrocities against each other, and fighting each other for survival and with the burgeon of civilization and modernization, crime rates are at its apogee. The prompt suggests that a person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not be provided with any civil rights from there on after. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion and argue that knowingly committing a crime is a grave sin and should be punished accordingly, but based on the intensity of crime, the person should be allowed basic human rights and a second chance to correct himself, for the following three reasons.

To begin with, according to the famous adage, 'human conscience is the most truthful entity', says that even when committing a crime, the moral conscience will guilt the person into not doing it. But if the person has the audacity and selflessness to go against his inner voice then they can be called a monster. For example, Ted Bundy, the cruel rapist who made women fall in love with him and then killed them in the most gruesome way, shows no signs of guilt in committing these heinous crimes. These kind of criminals who knowingly commit a crime for their own pleasure should not be allowed to retain any civil rights, else the society will have to face loss of many more innocent souls.

Furthermore, social contracts are unspoken moral binding contracts that holds the humans together in a society, it upholds the ethical values of the company. Breaking it, is like disrespecting the value of the company, and such act should be punished by depriving them of the right to benefit from his or her own labor. For example, in corporate politics its not uncommon to step on their colleagues to rise up the corporate ladder. But there is a limit to the snubbing and it should not be tolerated when it crosses this limit and damages the other individual or the company values to a great extent, else breaking the social contract will become the new norm and the sense of fear which holds back a human from committing a crime will disappear turning him into a devil. Thus, knowingly committing a crime should be punished accordingly without any concession.

However, humans are continuously evolving and some of them are known to self correct themselves for the better when given a chance. For example, a child stealing money from his dad's pocket for chocolate is a crime that needs just mild punishment. A beggar stealing bun from a bakery to feed himself needs exoneration. Punishing these mild crimes that are performed knowingly, by depriving of civil rights would not be a prudent move. Thus, it is important to judge the extent of the crime and take into consideration the mindset of the criminal and his environmental situation before passing a serious judgement which could hamper their life forever.

In the right of above deliberation, the authors claim to recant civil right and right to benefit from labor on a person who commits a crime knowingly, cannot be concluded without analysis of the seriousness of the crime committed and its impact to the society. Gruesome crimes which thwart the societies growth should be punished with seriousness while other Luke warm crimes committed for the basic survival should be condoned.