Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

In the argument given, it is stated that emulating the way our hominids did, will cure many chronic illnesses. Author has come to this conclusion based on an anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases compared to the rest. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, the following assumptions made by the author needs to be warranted and it's implication on the argument needs to be addressed.

First of all, the author has assumed that the body of ancient human and the present day human is similar. In other words, they have disregarded the continuous evolution of human body from generation to generation. Perhaps the present day human body is exposed to different kind of environment, germs and health issues compared to our ancestors. Maybe the use of cartilage in today's world is not as much as in our history, since our ancestors had to hunt on a daily basis for the survival whereas in the present day extraneous physical activity is not expected from humans for their survival. If either of these above assumptions has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the anecdotal talks only about consumption of bone broth, not the complete consumption pattern of hominids. In other words, it is wrong to generalize effects of intake of one particular food item to the complete spectrum of food consumption pattern. For example, if ancestors had the habit of eating uncooked meat or eating just once a day based on their hunting results, then following the same in present day scenario would imbalance the metabolism. Maybe ancestors ate certain flowers or plant products which might be poisonous to the human digestive system today. Thus, it is not possible to extend the claim of beneficial effects of bone broth to all the food items that ancestors consumed.

Thirdly, the anecdotal talks about consumption of bone broth leading to fewer metabolic and inflammatory disease, not the entire spectrum of chronic illnesses. Perhaps consumption of bone broth might lead to unknown side effects which might be incurable. Maybe, the people who showed fewer chronic illness on consuming bone broth had a healthier lifestyle and better living standards compared to those who didn't. There are many factors which determine the advent of chronic illness in a human. Narrowing it down to just consumption of one food item would be insufficient conclusion. If the above possibilities are true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to it's reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to consider and evaluate the above stated possibilities and offer more evidences (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of reduction in chronic illnesses by emulating the way hominids consumed food.