Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the advertising director of the super screen movie production company has stated that, the budget for advertisement should be increased over the next year, in order to attract more viewers and profit the company. The director has come to this conclusion based on the assumption that, the content of the movie over the past year have produced positive reviews by the people who viewed it and disseminating this reviews to a wider audience would bring in more viewers. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, following three questions must be answered.

Firstly, how is the percentage of positive reviews calculated ? In other words, if the total number of people who viewed the movie over the past year has reduced then the denominator in calculating the positive reviews percentage has reduced which results in a higher value even if the number of positive reviews remain the same as previous years. Perhaps, the positive reviewers are regular viewers who always leave behind a good note. Maybe, over the past year, the movies have lost more audience than the previous years because of its content and this reduction in total number has caused the rise of percentage of positive reviews. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, what was the major genre/content of the movie screened last year ? Was it focused on youth or the aged ? The working populace or the students ? Each individual is unique and the content of a movie percieved by a young man is very different from an aged man. Perhaps if the content of the movie was solely focused for aged individuals, it might be the reason for reduced number of viewers and advertising the movie would still not improve the number because of the disinterested viewers. Thus, the content of the movie and its focus group needs to be evaluated before reaching any conclusion. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, the location of the movie screen and the theater surrounding environmental conditions might be infeasible for viewers to travel to the cinema hall. Perhaps, lately there has been construction surrounding the theater causing irritation to the viewers. Maybe, the increase in online movie screening platforms might be attractive to busy workers who cannot make time for the travel to movie theater. If these factors are true, then even if the budget for advertising is increased, the number of viewers will still remain the same or plummet.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the questions above and offer more evidence ( perhaps in the form of a systematic research study ), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation to improve the budget for advertising over the next year in order to attract more viewers to the movie.