The following is an excerpt from a letter sent by the principal of Greenwood School to the parents of all incoming kindergartners.

"We have decided to institute a policy of all-day kindergarten, instead of half-day kindergarten, for all students at Greenwood School. All-day kindergarten will help all our students achieve at their highest levels. The classes will be 'tracked'; so that average students are together, but high-achieving and low-achieving students will be put together in classes. In this way, the high-achieving students will be able to help pull the low-achieving students up to their level, so that no student falls behind. The all-day kindergarten classes will cover the same material previously covered in the half-day kindergarten classes, but will go at a slower speed to accommodate learning differences. In addition, the students will receive extra instruction in music, art, and physical education. One of the greatest benefits of the plan, however, is that students will be in a structured environment for longer hours, reducing the numbers of hours that otherwise would be wasted at home or in day care."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter sent by the principal of Greenwood School to the parents of all incoming kindergartners, it is stated that the institute has planned to adopt a policy of all-day kindergarten, instead of half-day kindergarten. The Principal of Greenwood School has come to this conclusion based on the assumption that longer hours in a structured environment is beneficial for kids, as well as the assumption that covering the same topics at a slower pace will eradicate the learning differences among-st kids. He also made others assumptions such as tracking the kids performance and segregating them into average, high performing and low performing will help in the development of every kid in a holistic approach. However, before this recommendation to adopt the policy of all-day classes for kindergarten can be implemented, the following three assumptions must be warranted and it's implications should be evaluated.

To begin with, the Principal assumes that kids benefit more from learning in a structured environment, compared to the learning's from experiencing the real world which is quite unstructured in nature. One might argue that its important to protect the kids from the perils of the evil world, but how long can they be protected inside this safety bubble ? Once they grow up, a sudden burst of this safety net will traumatize the kid, and the kid will be put in a state of tumult and it might stunt their future growth. Therefore, kids might benefit more from experiencing the real unstructured environment, where they can fall and learn to get up on their own, rather than spending more time in a factitious environment at school.

Furthermore, the Principal assumes that teaching the same topic but in a slow pace would help the entire class understand the concept better. But, he fails to recognize that each kid is unique. For example, a kid with good grasping power in math, might be bad at understanding the concept of art. If this kid is made to spend more time on math just because his counterparts can also catch up with the subject, he will lose interest in math and find no time to better himself in the field of art. This example shows that, extending the class hours just to elaborate on a topic for better understanding by all the students might hamper the knowledge growth of few kids.

Thirdly, based on what factor is the Principal segregating the kids into average, low achieving and high achieving ? A kid that is very good at music might be poor in their math skill, how can mixing this musically high performing kid with a musically low performing kid ensure overall development of both the kids ? Furthermore, the average kids, if they don't get to interact with high performing or low performing kids then they might fail to recognize their true competition and their true strength. One needs to interact with various kinds of individuals to learn the reality. Narrowing down their interactions might hamper the growth rather than enhancing it.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerable flawed due to it's reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to evaluate the three assumptions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to implement the policy of all-day kindergarten at Greenwood School.