Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Science and technology has evolved to a magnanimous extent in the past decade. Current modern society is heavily dependent on technology not only to solve pressing issues but also for their quotidian affairs. The prompt recommends that one day science and technology will be able to solve all of society's problems. In my opinion, I mostly disagree, because science and technology might be able to solve plethora of society's existing problems but it can also create quite a few annoying novel problems, for two reasons.

To begin with, society's most pestering problem, unemployment and poverty has increased to a great extant with the advent of science and technology. In other words, development in science and technology has reduced the employment opportunities depriving the poor from the ability to fend for themselves. For instance, technology revolution in the field of automation has snatched the daily jobs from manual/unskilled laborers. People who could not keep up with the new technology are left on the streets begging for survival. Only those who are at par with the new developments in science are progressing in society whilst others are struggling to catch up. This shows that science and technology has aggravated the existing unemployment issue in society rather than solving it.

Furthermore, research shows that the number of wars waged and atrocities against humans have increased along with the development of technology. For instance, countries are coming up with better nuclear weapons with the power of mass destruction, which could wipe out an entire city. Biochemical weapons that can cause loss to an entire nation, is being researched upon by many. Guns that can kill a man at a very far range are easily available to any citizen. Mass shootings at school and church and other holy places where we least expect it are everyday news now. These facts show that science and technology has affected the humanitarian nature of humans, leading to drifts among-st themselves.

However, there are few problems like environmental pollution, connecting people across the world, global trading, extracting minerals from earth etc., which are solved by science and technology. Technology is like a coin, it has both good and bad side to it and it's up to the humans on how they plan to use any new technology for the betterment of the society by solving it's problems or by creating new problems.