A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Quality education to students is important for the burgeon of nation. Good education at embryonic stages of schooling will lay a strong foundation for the higher convoluted studies. The prompt suggests that the nation should mandate a standard national curriculum for all of its students until they enter the college. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion and argue that students should be provided the freedom of choosing their subjects and organizing their curriculum, for the following three reasons.

To begin with, the interests of each individual is unique and to galvanize their specific interest in which they are good at, requires special attention to germane subjects. In other words, one standard curriculum will not be efficient in imparting sufficient, in depth information for plethora of concepts. For example, a student interested in quantum physics, if he is mandated to audit a course on history, in which he has no interest at all, he will not only fail at the history course but also lack strong grip on his favorite subject of physics. Instead, if he was given the option to modify his curriculum based on his penchant, he would ace in it. Thus, a standard curriculum is facile and does not satisfy every individuals needs.

Furthermore, each field of study requires specific set of skills and proficiency in those required skill set. In other words, excess of information on irrelevant subjects which do not align with the major study in college, will seem picayune and recondite the study process. For example, a student aspiring to be a machine learning expert needs be prolific at coding, if he dilates in studying management or civil subjects in his high schooling, his chances of obtaining a good college for machine learning is reduced. Further, at his job as machine learning expert he would not be needed to know the constitution of his country. This example illustrates that, national curriculum will just hinder the admission chances of students to their college of interest.

However, to broaden ones perspectives, it is needed to have basic information about various subjects. To be a wholesome citizen, means to be aware of his social duties and responsibilities along with expertise in his field of interest. To illustrate, a student needs to be aware of environmental studies, historical events that led to the present day situation along with his favorite subject study in order to grow holistically. Thus a national curriculum which mandates basics of all of the required subjects is beneficial in overall growth of a student.

In the right of above deliberation, the authors claim to mandate national curriculum for students before they enter the college, does not have a single conclusion, considering the vastness of the topic. National curriculum with flexibility to modify it according to the interest of the student will be beneficial for the holistic growth of the individual.