The way a message is delivered is often more important than the message itself.

Technology has revolutionized the way people communicate. Century ago people used pigeons or porters to send messages to their counterparts and had to wait for months before the message was received by the intended person. In the present day a message can be sent to a person across the world in a span of millisecond, through different platforms like phone call, email, fax, text message etc. The prompt suggests that the way a message is delivered is often more important than the message itself. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion and argue that the way in which message is delivered holds primal importance over the message itself for three reasons.

To begin with, a resume or an important closing statements for a major deal if sent over a simple text message rather than an email or a fax loses it's importance despite the content being flamboyant. For example, a person seeking a job if he or she sends their well structured resume over a whats-app message to HR of his dream company it sets a bad precedent that the person is not serious enough about the job despite their real intentions. Thus, it is necessary to send certain messages over the right platform intended for specific business purposes else it might demean or misinterpret the primary purpose of the message.

Furthermore, during an emergency situation a simple missed call to emergency number with any alert message is enough to indicate the seriousness of the situation. In other words, composing a detailed email or a lengthy explanation of the emergency situation is not feasible and inefficient. For example, when there is a fire in a building, just screaming out 'FIRE FIRE HELP' and the address of emergency is enough to notify the fire department for help. Instead if the person spends minutes in drafting the help request to fire department, the fire might have spread by then and the situation would spiral out of control. This shows that sometimes the way the message is delivered is more important than the content of the message.

However, messages like birthday wishes or congratulatory notes can be sent through any media of messaging and the content of the message holds more value compared to the communication platform. For instance, in a wedding, the save the dates could be sent over text or call or mail or any platform but the message should contain details of the venue and timings which is more important than the way message is delivered. Without the necessary content in the message body sending it on any platform does not hold water. Thus, in certain cases message content takes more importance over the media of communication.

In the right of above deliberation, it is seen that certain messages have more importance on the way of it's delivery compared to the content and certain other messages have more importance to the content over the way it's delivered. Thus, its dependent on the type of message and the situation and the authors claim that 'the way a message is delivered is often more important than the message itself', cannot be generalized to all the messaging scenarios.