The way a message is delivered is often more important than the message itself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In our modern cultural landscape, one could make the argument that the line between stardom and talent has blurred; some become famous without talent while others take years for their talent to be noticed by others. Moreover, for those with notorious reputations, fame may interfere with an honest assessment of what could be called "real" talent. This is true for all artists, and musicians are no exception. From Elvis to Mozat, there have been a myriad of examples throughout history when fame interferes with our assessment of talent.

Before the romantic era of classical music, Mozart's works were not as universally acclaimed as one might imagine, a consequence of Mozart's famous temperment. It was understood at the time that the man was talented, but his music was not consdiered to be as memorable as we would classify it today. In fact, the opera Don Giovani was only screened a handful of times in the Vienna opera house before being replacd by another production. The reason was simple, Mozart was famous for outlandish performances, but the opera he presented was not in-line with past works. This does not diminish the masterful musical talent on display during a performance, but Mozart's fame reduced the ability of people to assess the quality of his art. Only after many years did the world come to understand the talent present throughout his body of work.

More recently, Elvis Presley - the King of Rock and Roll - is another example of a man whose musical talent was overshadowed by his fame. Elvis' hit singles like Jailhouse Rock were panned as crass examples of modern musical artwork, a derivative of the Jazz and Blues which had recently become popular throughout the United States. This perspective was influenced by Elvis' famous dance-work, which was seen negativley by the more conservative, older generations. However, years after his death, it a common understanding that Elvis helped elevate the art of Blues into the next frontier, paving the way for a new generation of artists.

It is conceitvable that talent and fame are independent variables contributing to the assessment of a musician's career. Consider those unnamed musicians without access to recording studios or producers capable of distribuing truly talented songs to the public. Additionally, consider the famous artists of our day who employ auto-tune technology to activley change their untalented voices into perfepopular works of art. However, when true talent is given the chance to be heard, fame tends to follow as popularity inspires many to follow. For this reason, fame must necessarily interfere with popular musicians.

The work of popular musical artists is tied to that of their fame. A musician famous for their negative traits will have that negativity seep into the common understading of their work, and vice versa. Only after time has passed, when future generations can review musical works without the biases created by fame, can true talent be accuratley assessed.