The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the statement above and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should consider

ways in which the statement might or might not

hold true and explain how those considerations

shape your position.

The origin of ideas is a topic of much discussion. It would serve society a great service if one was able to determin the source of innovative, best-in-class insights. The discussion tends to boil down into one of two forms: are ideas best sourced from the common or the uncommon. It is the case that the best ideas, whether they belong within the domain of Science or Art, are the byproduct of passionate study of the common.

Important, innovative scientific discoveries has historically found their roots in the study of common-day occurances. Take, for example, the discovery of Maxwell's equations of magnetism. These invaluable equations describing the connection between electric and magnetic fields helped were the byproduct of careful observations made by a blacksmith with no formal scientific training. The sheer attraction by Maxwell to seemingly strange occurances in nature, specifically the correlation between a wire's movement while in the presence of a common iron magnet, was enough to birth an entire new, foundational branch of Physics. Clearly, the observation of commonplace interactions between elements in nature was enough to spark a truley "great" idea.

Beyond the domain of Science, ideas at the forefront of art have also have their roots in the passionate study of the common. During that 1960s, artists whose work would form the central body of work we today call "modern art" were inspired by their obsession with the quotidian. For example, consider Andy Wharhol's famound Camble Soup collection of paintings; this artwork was innovatite in its commentary on the explosion of mass consumption production in a post-war world. This artwork, and others like it at the time, are considered the best expressions of a hightened artistic style. Only through the careful study of common items and their place within society by artists could such meaningful artistic expression have emerged.

Although it may be said that the study of the eccentric can lead to offer new perspectives that lead to the elevated insights, this is not necessarily true. Consider the ideas of the Chatholic Church durring the Dark Ages of European society. While various circles among the clergy allocated scarce time and resources to the study of the supernatural, famously debating how many angles could dance on the head of the pin, efforts into novel scientific and literary innovations were stiffled. By no means did the study of the uncommon at this time generate ideas that one would classify as "best."