"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership is not an innate quality, to be a great leader is to be innovative, sagacious, authoritative with compassion, inspirational with a debonair and plethora of such exemplar qualities that can be developed or inculcated over time. For the waxing of a society, it is fundamental to prepare the next generation citizens to be a true leader in whatever field they chose to burgeon in. The prompt suggests that the best way to prepare the youth for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation over competition. In my opinion, I mostly disagree and argue that, true sense of leadership is achieved through holistic development which is dependent on infinite factors and cannot be attributed to just cooperation and competition for the following three reasons.

To begin with, according to the famous adage that 'your competitors show your true value', tacit that we can bring out the best in an individual in a competitive environment where he feels challenged. For example, imagine an eagle living among the chickens since its birth, this fledgling is surrounded by timid chickens all the time and by group mentality it believes it is also bound to the ground like the mindless chickens. With just the quality of cooperation, this eagle will never soar the sky. But if it is challenged by a predator, with the instincts kicking in for it to survive, it will fly high till it reaches the sky. This example shows that competitiveness is necessary for the youth to bring out their latent talent.

Furthermore, without competition it is impossible to filter out the best from the rest. In other words, to select a great leader, competition among-st the populace is desideratum. If the youth was raised with sense of cooperation, not competition, he or she will fail miserably at proving their worth for the position in question. For example, universities accept students who are able to showcase their intelligence and capability to benefit the society. A cooperative student without the awareness of competition will fail to present the best version of himself thus depriving him the chance of a good university selection. This presents that competition is needed to be a great leader.

However, one might argue that cooperation is important to empathize with the subordinates, but how good is a leader if he cannot redoubt them with his charm? To develop this charm he needs to vie and vanquish in the field he has chosen. Just the cooperation quality might hinder him from realizing his true potential and put him in a tumult during quandary. For example, when a boss has to fire his favorite employees because of cost cutting, a sense of competition is needed to make a prudent decision and cooperation to communicate the decision effectively without lacerating the employee. Thus, along with cooperation, a sense of competition and sagacious nature is needed to be a good leader.

In the right of above deliberation, leadership demands plethora of qualities which cannot be narrowed down to just cooperation and competition. Because of the vastness of the presented topic, it is not possible to reach a definite conclusion. Variety of factors based on the environment and situation needs to be considered in preparing the youth for leadership in the chosen field.