The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Leadership is not an innate quality. Nobody is born a leader. It’s a skill that an individual develops based on his life experiences and lessons. There are many factors that influence the leadership in any field, but the argument in here is about the two most important factors amongst them: cooperation and competition. The prompt recommends that the best way for a society to prepare its future generation for a smart leadership, in any field that they venture on, is by instilling a sense of cooperation in them not competition. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion and argue that a fine balance needs to be struck between the cooperation and competition amongst the youth to be a successful leader in this modern society. I present three reasons to support my opinion.

To begin with, leadership is about leading people by compassion and empathy. In other words, it’s about helping people believe in themselves and to make them feel confident and important. Thus, a fierce competition amongst the youth, which involves the adage ‘survival of the fittest’, will kill the main purpose of leadership. For example, Donald Trump, president of the United States is hated upon by many for his bad leadership. He lacks empathy towards other human beings from around the world and is highly parochial. His inconsideration towards public opinion and cries of the lesser privileged has gained him animosity from the populace. This example, illustrates the importance of cooperation amongst the peers to be a good leader.

Furthermore, any task when done together in an efficient manner takes up less time when compared to doing it individually. Thus, the skill of cooperation can lead to better quality products and services. For example, Mark Zuckerberg, who revolutionized the way people connect, couldn’t have implemented his big idea all by himself. With the help of his friends and colleagues, he was able to achieve much more than what he had planned. This shows that greater heights can be achieved through cooperation.

However, risk taking and being challenged is also one of the important qualities of a leader and competition makes an individual feel challenged. For example, research says the new products in the last 5 years is double than the number of new products in the previous 5 years. This is because of the rising competition in the marketplace. When humans feel challenged, it’s in our instincts to work harder and be the best version of ourselves. Hence, a little bit of competition can bring out the best version of a person.

Finally, in this modern day society, a good leader is expected to inspire and lead by example. He or she needs to have much more than skill of cooperation or competition. The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in this expanding world, is by striking the right balance between instilling in them a sense of cooperation and competition.