Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

According to the famous adage, 'truth always triumphs', I strongly agree that in any relationship it is most important to be truthful to each other. Of course, it is a known fact that, facing the truth and confronting the cold hard facts is a bitter experience but it is necessary. If one were to lie or hide the truth, it will gradually unveil itself and the impact of this revelation will be much worse than facing the truth in its beginning stages. It is my firm belief that truth should be spoken in a relationship between two people and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, trust is the basic foundation for any relationship and truth the pithy of trust. Trust is similar to respect, if you expect to be trusted, you need to trust in others. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. In my school years, I dated this adorable boy, who was admired by teachers and the students. It was good for first few weeks until I realised his habit of compulsive lying. He used to make up many lies in order to cover up a small lie he had told before and ultimately was stuck in a web of lies, which was impossible to escape. This made it difficult for me to trust his actions and motives and ultimately the relationship boat sank. Thus, it is very important to trust your partner and be truthful to them.

Furthermore, it is important to realise that a lie is just borrowed time. In other word, when you lie, you are just postponing the eventual confrontation. A lie cannot completely mask the truth, the truth will resurface in one way or the other. Drawing from my own experience, in my college days, I had a very good relationship with my roommate. We were like sisters, we shared a lot of common interests. One day during the college fest, I lost my favourite watch and was very disappointed since it could not be found anywhere despite the laborious efforts in searching for it. Two years later, I found my roommate wearing my lost watch to graduation party. Later she confessed to have stolen it since she took an active interest for it, this soured our relationship and we parted on bad terms. Had she requested to borrow my watch or confessed to have used it earlier in time, our relationship didn't have to end the way it did and we could have still been good friends. This made it clear for me, that being truthful is the best way to have a long sustained relationship.

However, one might argue that a white lie to make the other person feel better might be necessary sometimes. But will the white lie help your counterpart improve themselves ? What is the extent of this white lie ?. In my opinion, it is better to face the cold hard fact in its face, than to run away from it. For example, in relationship if one of the person is facing obesity issues and they ask for validation from their partner, it would wrong to sugar coat it by denying the issue, it would also be wrong to insult them about their issue. It is important to find a middle ground, where you help them face the obesity issue by motivating them to exercise and diet. If you speak a white lie to make them feel better, then they will be content with their issue and might not work towards resolving it.

In the light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that speaking the truth is the basic in any relationship between people. It will ensure a good and balanced relationship for a long time, one that will bring happiness and the best version of themselves.